14 comments on “China. Wuzhen.

    • It was raining cats and dogs when I arrived to Wuzhen. I couldn’t do a lot, but I was absorbing all the beauty just getting on the streets of the town. I put my alarm for 4:30 in a morning , and when I got out of hotel, it still was foggy. I made a few shots here and there, and started my OWN adventure in still sleepy town. Those two hours were most satisfying and most productive for me.

  1. I’ve been to WuZhen once, great great photos! Reminds me of my days there. The most noticeable thing about your photos is that you captured the EMPTY streets and tea houses etc. This has to do with getting up as early as 5am! Really appreciate that.

  2. Very evocative and, as always, beautifully composed.

    It’s weird, seeing the first pic of the sampan passing reminded me so much of a much-loved print we have of Venice: the prow of a black gondola floats on emerald green waters by the opening of a brick building, bearing a bunch of red flowers which draw the eye in exactly the same way as the red and orange objects on the sampan do. The only real appreciable differences are your photo has the boat heading right and includes a human figure.

  3. WOW!! Natalia these images are truly amazing! I think this is my favorite post thus far! You truly have an eye for real beauty! Stunning! Thanks for sharing

  4. These are beautiful Natalia – is this where they have little ponds for fish inside the houses? All the aged timber and stone – must be a wonderful place to be and to see people wander past with their baskets.

    • I think it’s great they turn it into a historical place with a lot of small temples, pottery and the old style indigo dye fabric shop. Everything was very educational. During day time is quite busy with tourists, for that reason I got up early to browse the local architecture unobstructed.

  5. Reblogged this on IMAZN and commented:
    Check out the great Photography by Natalie Marks of Wuzhen, an old water town on the banks of the Grand Canal in China.

  6. Lovely reflections in some of those canal shots. When we keep getting politics and trade shoved down our throats it’s hard to remember the history and beauty of the place

Leave a Reply

